Vote of no confidence motion against Imran Khan passes with 174 votes
A view of the National Assembly in Islamabad: Photo Quetta Voice

Dawood Ahmed:

A vote of the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan was passed by the national assembly. A total of 174 votes were cast in the support of no-confidence motion. Workers of opposition parties celebrated the ouster of Imran Khan through the vote of no confidence. Whereas, the Pakistan Tehrik e Insaf (PTI) termed it a foreign conspiracy to remove Khan’s government.

Imran Khan is the first prime minister in Pakistan’s history to have been removed from office through a no-confidence vote. Before him, Shaukat Aziz in 2006, and Benazir Bhutto in 1989, survived the moves against them.

PML-N spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb Sadiq could not cast his vote as he was chairing the session. PTI dissenting members did not cast their votes either. Before adjourning the session, Sadiq said the nomination papers for the new prime minister may be submitted by 2 pm today (Sunday) and scrutiny would be done by 3 pm. He summoned the session on Monday at 11 am and said the new premier would be elected then.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

About the Author

Quetta Voice is an English Daily covering all unfolding political, economic and social issues relating to Balochistan, Pakistan's largest province in terms of area. QV's main focus is on stories related to education, promotion of quality education and publishing reports about out of school children in the province. QV has also a vigilant eye on health, climate change and other key sectors.